Sebastian Deffner


Department of Physics, UMBC
Baltimore, MD 21250, USA

Tel.:         +1-410-455-1972
Office:     Physics, Rm. 311


2011 Doctor rerum naturalium (Doctor of Science, Physics) from University of Augsburg, Germany
2008 Diplom-Physiker (Master of Science, Physics) from University of Augsburg, Germany

Academic career:

2016 present Assistant Professor, Department of Physics, UMBC
2016 present Visiting Professor, Institute of Physics ‘Gleb Wataghin’, UNICAMP
2014 2016 Director’s Funded Postdoctoral Fellow, LANL (Wojciech H. Zurek)
2011 2014 Research Associate, University of Maryland College Park (Christopher Jarzynski)
2011 Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Augsburg, Germany (Eric Lutz)
2008 2011 Research Fellow (PhD-Student), University of Augsburg, Germany (Eric Lutz)

Online profiles:


A complete list of publications can be found here.

Honors and Awards

  • 2022: UMBC
    CNMS Early-Career Faculty Excellence Award
  • 2021: EPJ
    Recognition as Distinguished Referee
  • 2020: IOP Publishing
    Recognition as IOP Trusted Reviewer
  • 2020: Journal of Physics A: Mathematical and Theoretical
    Certificate of Recognition of the high quality and timeliness of your reviews during the year (2019)
  • 2019: Publons
    Top reviewer in Physics
  • 2019: Publons
    Top reviewer in Cross-Field
  • 2018: Publons
    Top reviewer for Physics
  • 2017: American Physical Society
    Recognition as APS Outstanding Referee
  • 2016: Los Alamos National Laboratory
    Leon Heller Postdoctoral Publication Prize in Theoretical Physics for Phys. Rev. Lett. 114 (2015) 150601
  • 2016: New Journal of Physics
    Early Career Award: Recognized as being an extremely talented young researcher who in his early career has proven leadership qualities
  • 2016: Annals of Physics
    Certificate of Outstanding Contribution in Reviewing
  • 2015: New Journal of Physics
    Certificate of Recognition of prolific, high-calibre and unhesitating service as a referee for New Journal of Physics in 2014
  • 2014: Los Alamos National Laboratory
    Director’s Funded Postdoctoral Fellowship
  • 2016: German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)
    Postdoctoral Fellowship
  • 2011: University of Augsburg, Germany
    Doctorate with highest distinction (SUMMA CUM LAUDE)